User Import Settings for CSVs & SFTP

  • Updated

WorkTango Import Settings allows platform admins to control the fine details about how your company data syncs with the Recognition & Rewards platform.

Accessing Import Settings

Within the admin dashboard, there are three ways you can navigate to the Import settings:

  • Click on "Company settings" under the User Management tab in the lefthand navigation panel
  • Go to the SFTP page under the Integrations tab and click "Edit import options"*
  • Go to the Import History page under the Integrations tab and click "Edit import options"*

*This will take you to the Company settings page.

Once you are on the Company settings page, you will see different sections of settings. The Import settings are in the fifth section on the page.

Import settings.png

Import Settings Options

The following options are available for you to toggle on or off depending on your organization's preferences:

  1. Create new departments if they don’t exist:
    • Toggled On: The import file will create any new departments associated with users
    • Toggled Off: The import file will ignore new departments associated with users
  2. Create new locations if they don’t exist:
    • Toggled On: The import file will create any new locations associated with users
    • Toggled Off: The import file will ignore new locations associated with users
  3. Create new groups if they don’t exist:
    • Toggled On: The import file will create any new groups associated with users
    • Toggled Off: The import file will ignore new groups associated with users
    • Group names are comma separated in the import file in the ‘Groups to Add’ and ‘Groups to Remove’ columns

  4. Skip importing users with improperly formatted start date
    • Toggled On: If the start date is recognized as an improperly formatted date, it will skip the user in the import
    • Toggled Off: If the start date is recognized as an improperly formatted date, it will not skip the user in the import
  5. Skip importing users with improperly formatted birth date
    • Toggled On: If the birth date is recognized as an improperly formatted date, it will skip the user in the import
    • Toggled Off: If the birth date is recognized as an improperly formatted date, it will not skip the user in the import
  6. Archive users if they’re not listed in the import file
    • Toggled On: If the user is not listed in the import file, the user will be automatically archived
    • Toggled Off: If the user is not listed in the import file they will not receive any updates
  7. Skip creating or archiving users listed as archived in the import file
    • Toggled On: If the user is archived on the import file, updating the user will be skipped on import
    • Toggled Off: If the user is archived on the import file, updating the user will be updated on import
  8. Allow creating or updating users who don’t have proper manager information in the file
    • Toggled On: If the user in the import file does not have proper manager information the user will be created or updated on import
    • Toggled Off: If the user in the import file does not have proper manager information the user will not be created or updated on import
  9. Send an invitation email to any newly created user
    • Toggled On: If a user is created in the import file, and their status is active, they will receive an invitation email to the platform upon creation
    • Toggled Off: If a user is created in the import file, and their status is active, they will not receive an invitation email to the platform upon creation. Administrators will need to manually invite the new user to the platform
  10. Handling of roles in the import file
    • Roles presented in the import file will be appended to those that user already has: Roles are additive. The import will not remove roles from the user, only add new ones
    • User’s existing roles will be completely replaced by those presented in the import file: Roles are both additive and subtractive. The import file is the source of truth for roles for all users in the platform
  11. Handling of groups in the import file
    • Groups presented in the import file will be appended to those that user already has: Groups are additive. The import will not remove groups from the user, only add new ones
    • User’s existing groups will be completely replaced by those presented in the import file: Groups are both additive and subtractive. The import file is the source of truth for groups for all users in the platform
  12. Date format used in the import file
    Description: Allows the administrator to select the specific date format they want to use in their import. The format is set across birthdays and anniversaries . Our platform will look at the last file run and tries to sync to your preferred date format. This will avoid a number of initial errors on your next load, but all customers should check and confirm this format.
  13. Receives import status emails
    Allows administrators to choose who receives any automated import status emails from the platform. There are three emails that get sent from the system that provide links to view import outcomes :
    • Email 1 - Your import completed successfully
    • Email 2 - Your import completed with errors
    • Email 3 - Your import could not be processed

For more information on any errors you may receive, see here.

Related to

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.